New Members appointed to Canadian Broadcast Standards Council - Prairie Region

Ottawa, September 11, 1997 -- The Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC) announces the appointment of Krista Christensen, Dorothy Dobbie, Vic Dubois and Daniel Ish to its Prairie Regional Council.

Krista Christensen, a broadcaster member, has been the Operations Manager of CKCK-TV in Regina since 1995, where she has been working since 1980. She was a founding member of CKCK’s Employee and Family Assistant Program and continues to play an active role on the station’s EFAP Committee. She sits on the Executive Committee of the Alliance for Suicide Awareness and Prevention and, in 1994-95, served on the Mental Health Steering Committee, which reported on mental health priorities to the then newly formed Regina Health Board.

Dorothy Dobbie, a public member, was the M.P. for Winnipeg South from 1988 to 1993. During this time she was Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministers of Indian & Northern Affairs 1989 - 1991, as well as portfolios with Consumer and Corporate Affairs 1991-1993 and the Environment 1993. Ms. Dobbie received the Manitoba Chamber of Commerce “Outstanding Business Citizen of the Year” in 1983 and the YM-YWCA “Business Woman of the Year” award in 1987. She continues to play a very active role in Winnipeg community life and is currently President of Publishers Financial, Chair of both the Red River Community College Ten Year Development Plan and the Citizen’s Committee of the Aboriginal Heritage Centre of Winnipeg.

Vic Dubois, a broadcaster representative, is Senior Vice President of Forvest Broadcasting and General Manager of CJWW/CFQC-FM Saskatoon. He is the past President of the Saskatchewan Association of Broadcasters and has a lengthy history of involvement with several volunteer boards including Junior Achievement, Crimestoppers and the YMCA.

Daniel Ish, Q.C., a public member, is a Professor of Law at the University of Saskatchewan where he served as Dean from 1982-88 and 1996-97 and Director of the Diefenbaker Centre for the Study of Co-operatives from 1989 to 1995, prior to which he taught at the Faculty of Law of McGill University. He is a member of the Saskatchewan and Alberta Bars and has taught and written on many areas of law. He has, since 1979, been an active arbitrator and mediator. Professor Ish has taught in Australia and New Zealand and in 1995 was a Fulbright Fellow at Stanford University.

CBSC National Chair Ron Cohen stated: “This is a crucial moment in the history of the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council. We have begun to take on new broadcast members and are about to administer the new television ratings system. None of these challenges could be met without the dedication and thoughtfulness of our Regional Council volunteers. We are fortunate to have been able to attract persons with such significant records of public service and leadership.”

The Prairie Council, like all other CBSC Regional Councils, is made up of three public and three broadcast representatives. The other members include Sally Hall, a public member, the Prairie Regional Council Chair and Daryl Braun, a broadcaster representative, who will serve as Vice Chair.

Created in 1990 to administer industry self-regulatory codes on ethics, gender portrayal and violence, the CBSC’s membership includes approximately 400 private sector television and radio stations and several specialty services from across Canada. The CBSC received formal endorsement from the CRTC in 1991. To date over 80 decisions have been released by the CBSC, most of which are available, together with our codes and other relevant information, on the world wide web at

– 30 –